Family and Parenting

Home-Schooling and Social/Emotional Development

First of all, I would like to start off by mentioning this post will be coming in multiple sections.  This blog subject is for my Psychology of Adolescence final project so there will be a lot of information, and for those who choose to follow, it will be easier to digest the information in pieces I think.AAEAAQAAAAAAAAfQAAAAJDRmYjgyMmViLTFkN2MtNGQ4NS05NmZiLWMwY2Y2ZGI5NzgzOQ

I’d like to use this first post to explain why I chose this topic and my personal background with homeschooling.  I was home-schooled starting in 3rd grade and was reintroduced to public school in 7th grade.  I had a terrible experience, seeing as I was from a small town with no co-op opportunities and there was not a lot of socializing opportunities in general.  She made the decision to pull me out of the Christian school I was attending when she found out they were using teaching materials for students with special needs on all of their students.  And, sure enough, I tested a couple grade levels lower than where I was supposed to be.  She bought some of the best home-schooling materials out there and we started out on our new path.

Eventually, my parents realized I was not socially developing as I should and made the decision to enroll me back into a public school system.  I was caught back up, even surpassing my grade level in some of my classes, but I could not make friends to save my life.  Within a few weeks, I was starting to make friends but struggling with social anxiety, feeling different and overall, I was really self-conscious.  I still struggle with some of these issues and have often wondered if it is because of my awkward transition. However, despite my negative experience, I am considering home-schooling my own children.  I believe schooling my children at home will help them learn things that will be beneficial in real life, along with what they would be learning in a school setting.  Now that we live near a bigger city, I know there are socializing opportunities

I believe schooling my children at home will help them learn things that will be beneficial in real life, such as:  how to file taxes, learning about business opportunities and giving them the chance to spend years experiencing potential career paths, rather than the limited amount of time this is explored in public schools. Alongside the real world experience, they would have their typical school lessons.  Now that we live near a bigger city, I know there are socializing opportunities which is my biggest concern.  When this project was assigned, I realized this was the perfect opportunity to get some school credit for something I would be looking into anyways!  Feel free to follow along and ask questions if you have them!!

 

XOXO Megan

Leave a Reply

